I forgot how hard it is to stitch on black fabric

Image

I finally splurged and got the black aida cloth to start my solar system project last weekend.  The salesperson at the store gave me tips on stitching on dark fabrics.  It definitely helped to have the white pages of the booklet under the fabric while stitching.  It also looks like this may be a daylight only project.  Thank goodness Daylight Savings Time begins tomorrow as I do most of my stitching in the evening.  Here is my start on the moon and mercury.  It looks like this one is going to be around for a while…..

 

Image

4 thoughts on “I forgot how hard it is to stitch on black fabric

  1. I haven’t stitched on dark fabric for a while. I stitch while watching tv and would hold it up to the tv so I could see the holes through it. Good luck with it!

  2. Ginny says:

    I haven’t stitched on black yet, but I have stitched on a dark blue and I found that putting a white towel on my lap helped me to see the holes better.

  3. Helen Welsh says:

    Looks like a great project! If you end up working on it in the evenings I found it easier to see the holes if you shone your daylight lamp behind your work on the white towel/paper on your lap rather than on the black aida. Happy stitching! Helen x

  4. typenstitch says:

    I liked reading those tips from everyone. I have lots of projects on black too. The solar system will look incredible!

Leave a Reply

